Top 5 boundary hitters in IPL history

IPL, just like any other T20 game, is considered to be a batsmen friendly format. It is a no-brainer that people who watch it on TV or who go to the stadium do so because they expect the towering and mammoth sixes and free-flowing boundaries from batsmen and IPL hasn’t disappointed them.

The 2018 edition of the league witnessed a maximum number of balls being deposited into the stands.

Rishabh Pant topped the list by hitting 37 maximums this year, but do you know who holds the record of maximum number of boundaries over the 11 years of IPL?

We bring to you the top 5 batsmen who have hit the most number of boundaries (sixes and fours combined) and have entertained you like no one else had.

#5 David Warner – 561 boundaries

The Australian southpaw, who unfortunately missed this year’s edition, still occupies the 5th position in all-time boundary hitters list. With over 401 boundaries and 160 sixes, Warner has combined hit 561 boundaries overall.

Needless to say, had Warner played this IPL he would have definitely achieved a better ranking than where he is at right now.

#4 Rohit Sharma – 563 boundaries

The maverick Mumbai Indians captain, despite being in lean form this year, occupies 4th position in all-time boundary hitters list. One of the sweetest strikers of the ball, Rohit Sharma is a delight to watch when he is on the song.

With 379 fours and 184 sixes, Rohit Sharma has hit a total of 563 boundaries and is currently 2 boundaries ahead of his Australian counterpart David Warner.

#3 Virat Kohli – 611 boundaries

Can you have a batting record list these days and not have Virat Kohli in that? Practically impossible. India’s captain hasn’t let IPL devoid of his charm. Hitting 434 fours and 177 sixes, Kohli has hit a combined of 611 boundaries.

However, unfortunately, his IPL team is still searching for a title win; Kohli has been brilliant in an individual capacity and he promises to get only better with each passing year.

#2 Chris Gayle – 615 boundaries 

A list in T20 cricket is not complete without Chris Gayle – as simple as that. If T20 cricket is an art, Gayle is Picasso of it. He has been the T20 legend not just for West Indies but every league he has played for around the world.

He has already hit 292 sixes which is not just the maximum but 106 more than the second best. On top of that, Gayle has hit 323 fours that takes his tally to 615 boundaries and makes him sit on 2nd position.

#1 Suresh Raina – 633 boundaries

IPL and Suresh Raina are synonymous with each other. It will be impossible to imagine the IPL batting record list with Raina. The MS Dhoni deputy is the only player who has scored 350+ runs in every single year of IPL.

The reason why CSK is considered to be the best team of IPL can very much be attributed to CSK’s core team of which Raina is an integral part.

Raina has hit 185 sixes and 448 fours and with a combined tally of 633 boundaries, he sits pretty high on this list and it would take something special from other batsmen in IPL to dethrone Raina from this list.

The same as been published in Sportskeeda
Show More

Related Articles

Notice: Undefined index: series-id in /home/brokesfd/public_html/wp-content/plugins/ultimate-live-cricket-lite/classes/wsl-main-class.php on line 340

Notice: Undefined index: status in /home/brokesfd/public_html/wp-content/plugins/ultimate-live-cricket-lite/classes/wsl-main-class.php on line 349

Notice: Undefined index: series-id in /home/brokesfd/public_html/wp-content/plugins/ultimate-live-cricket-lite/classes/wsl-main-class.php on line 490

Notice: Undefined index: match-id in /home/brokesfd/public_html/wp-content/plugins/ultimate-live-cricket-lite/classes/wsl-main-class.php on line 498

Notice: Undefined index: status in /home/brokesfd/public_html/wp-content/plugins/ultimate-live-cricket-lite/classes/wsl-main-class.php on line 506