Indian Players in the ICC Hall of Fame

The ICC Hall of Fame recognises the achievements of the legends of the game from cricket’s long history. It was launched by International Cricket Council on 2nd January 2009 in association with the Federation of International Cricketers’ Associations as a part of the ICC’s centenary celebrations. Initially, 55 players were inducted in the list. On 1st July 2018, three players were inducted into the list by ICC. They are Rahul Dravid of India, Ricky Ponting of Australia and Clarie Taylor of England. Ponting becomes the 25th Australian Player to feature in this list. Clarie Taylor becomes 7th women cricketer to achieve this honour.  Let’s see who are the Indian players inducted into this list of greats.

Bishan Singh Bedi

Bishan Singh Bedi is the former Indian slow left-arm orthodox bowler and a former captain of Indian Cricket team who captained the team for 22 test matches. He played test cricket 1966 to 1979. In his 67 tests, he took 266 wickets.  He was also a part in Indian famous Indian spin quartet which includes Erapalli Prasanna, Srinivas Venkataraghavan, Bhagwat Chandrasekhar and Bishan Singh Bedi. This Spin quartet was the main reason for many test victories for India in that time. He holds the record for the most economical bowling figures in a 60 over ODI match with a figure of 12-8-6-1 where bowlers were allowed to bowl 12 overs in that format of the game. He was inducted in the ICC Hall of Fame in 2009.

Sunil Gavaskar

If we turn the pages of the history book of Indian Cricket team, the name Sunil Gavaskar will have a separate chapter. The veteran cricketer was part of the team from the early 1970s to late 1980s. The right-handed opening batsmen held the record of most no. of test centuries of 34 until 2005 when the master blaster broke the record and recorded 51 test centuries. He was the first Test batsman to score 10000 test runs. In 1996 The Boarder-Gavaskar Trophy has been instituted in his co-honour with Australian Legend Allan Border. He also has written some books on cricket such as “Sunny Days”, “Idols”, “Runs ‘n’ Ruins” and “One Day Wonders”. He was inducted in the ICC Hall of Fame in 2009.

Kapil Dev

If Indian fans hear the name world cup there will be two names come to their mind. One is MS Dhoni. The other one is Kapil Dev. The pace bowling allrounder guided Indin team to their first ever world cup win in 1983 which held in England. He was named by Wisden as the Indian Cricketer of the century in 2002. He was the highest wicket taker in test cricket until Courtney Walsh in 2000. He is the only player in the history to take 400 wickets and score 5000 runs in Test Cricket. Up to now, Indian team is in the search for an all-rounder like Kapil Dev. On 11th March 2010, Kapil Dev was inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame.

Anil Kumble

When we speak about leg-spin, the name Anil Kumble cannot be omitted. The veteran leg-spinner is the highest wicket-taker for team India in test cricket. He took 619 wickets which are the third highest in the test cricket. He is only the second player to take 10 wickets in an innings of a Test match. He was also the former captain of Indian Cricket team. During his time he laid the foundation to the team for becoming no.1 Test team in the world for the first time after two years of his retirement. He was also the former coach of Team India. During this time India again becomes the no.1 test team in ICC Test team rankings. In 2012 he was appointed as the chairman of ICC. On February 2015 he was inducted to the ICC Hall of Fame.

Rahul Dravid

Rahul Dravid is the latest addition to the ICC Hall of fame joined by Ricky Ponting of Australia and Claire Taylor(women cricket) of England. Rahul Dravid became the fifth player to get this honour from International Cricket Council. Rahul Dravid is well known as “The Wall” for his defensive play in Test Cricket. Dravid scored 13288 runs in 164 Tests with 36 centuries and 10889 runs in 344 ODIs with 12 centuries. He is the current Overseas batting consultant for the Indian team and coach for India U19 and India A teams. After receiving this honour he said “It is a matter of great honour to be named by the ICC in the Cricket Hall of fame. To find your name in a list of all time greats across generations is something one only dreams of while setting out on a cricket career and the kind of recognition that would delight any player.”

Apart from these five players, there are many Indian players who have the capability of joining in the epic list of achievers. In future, we can see many names inducted into the list. We will have to wait and watch who comes into the extraordinary list of greats.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notice: Undefined index: series-id in /home/brokesfd/public_html/wp-content/plugins/ultimate-live-cricket-lite/classes/wsl-main-class.php on line 340

Notice: Undefined index: status in /home/brokesfd/public_html/wp-content/plugins/ultimate-live-cricket-lite/classes/wsl-main-class.php on line 349

Notice: Undefined index: series-id in /home/brokesfd/public_html/wp-content/plugins/ultimate-live-cricket-lite/classes/wsl-main-class.php on line 490

Notice: Undefined index: match-id in /home/brokesfd/public_html/wp-content/plugins/ultimate-live-cricket-lite/classes/wsl-main-class.php on line 498

Notice: Undefined index: status in /home/brokesfd/public_html/wp-content/plugins/ultimate-live-cricket-lite/classes/wsl-main-class.php on line 506